Fiction Friday!

It’s Fiction Friday again and today I’m posting a review. Now, I don’t normally do reviews, because frankly I don’t think I write them very well. Plus, there’s the whole ‘I’m new to this publishing thing so who am I to review something?’ feeling I have LOL.

But I met Cameron at the UK Meet 2012 and was instantly charmed. Cameron is a HOOT with a rapier wit and a dry sense of humor that I LOVED. I thoroughly enjoyed Yours to Command and when I was offered an early copy of Cancel Christmas if I would read and possibly write a review, I jumped at the chance. Then RL exploded in my face and here it is over two months later and I’m just now getting around to posting my review. Fortunately, the book is still for sale LOL and you can find it at MLR Press, at Amazon US and at Amazon UK. And you can find Cameron HERE

Now, on with the review – thanks Choccy for looking this over *HUGS*

Jack and Rory are Military Police and were introduced in the short story “Yours To Command” but you don’t need to have read that one to get into Cancel Christmas. There’s enough background information given in the beginning to get you right into Jack and Rory’s relationship. Jack is just about to depart to spend his Christmas leave with his family when his leave is canceled to join Rory in a murder investigation in Germany.

As the author peels back the layers of the crime, the layers of Jack and Rory’s relationship are peeled back as well. We learn that Jack has come from a big family and Rory is a bit jealous of his relationship with that family. Rory is a bit gun shy when it comes to their relationship because not only is it not accepted in the military but he’s an officer and Jack is not and fraternization is most expressly forbidden. Early on we learn that Jack has a secret penchant for rough sex, something that surprises Rory (and me as well) but Rory rolls with it and I was especially impressed by the fact that it came up several times throughout the book and they did finally discuss it in their own way to a satisfactory conclusion.

The murder they were investigating was just as intriguing as the new dynamic to their relationship. There were twists and turns and red herrings galore and I enjoyed every single one of them. I like a good murder mystery that keeps me guessing about the identity of the killer and the motivation behind the kill until the very end and this one did not disappoint.

Mix that with the burden Jack and Rory have of keeping their relationship a secret coupled with their desire to take their relationship to the next level and the hint of regret over not being able to be public about how they feel for each other, and this makes for a page-turner that I had trouble putting down.

I’m looking forward to more of Jack and Rory’s adventures in the future.

Ok, that’s it for me this week. Look for my next update on TUESDAY instead of Monday – more on why on Tuesday 😀

Have a great weekend!!!

<33333 KH

2 responses to “Fiction Friday!

  1. Yay. I’m going to respond here at your blog rather than your lj.

    I finally got around to buying this book this week. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    That reminds me, i must follow Cam’s blog.

Leave a Reply

