Happy Release Day!!!

My new short story is out – TODAY! So excited – first sports story I’ve written. I hope you all enjoy it just as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Here’s a little story about how this story came to fruition.

When I first started writing, my husband did all my editing for me. He offered advice and story critiques and it was a really fun partnership. Then life and work got too busy for both of us and he couldn’t edit for me anymore.

When the chance to write for the Scoring Anthology came up I mentioned that I was thinking about doing a baseball story. His eyes lit up and he started throwing out ideas and bad puns and baseball movie quotes. Instantly I knew I had to write for this anthology because it was like old times again.

We sat down over dinner, plotted out the whole story, came up with names for my two MCs (even came up with some really bad ones that will never see the light of day LOL). And when I fretted about getting all the baseball details right, he said to me, “You write, I’ll make sure all the baseball details are correct.”

And hence, a story was born and I remembered just how fun it was to work out the story details with my husband and have him do the first pass of editing. I hope everyone enjoys reading Calling The Shots as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Here’s the official blurb:

Cal “Bullet” Thompson is pitching for the San Antonio Missions while he rehabs from a pulled hamstring. It’s taking longer than originally planned for him to get back to the San Diego Padres, or The Show. He’s going through the motions, biding his time, until catcher Todd “Dusty” Springfield pulls on a catcher’s mask and squats down behind home plate.

Todd is a fresh bundle of smiles, energy, wit, curly blond hair and bright blue eyes. Within a few pitches he’s reading Cal like a book and giving him the signals for the pitches he wants to throw. Cal can already tell they’re going to work well together and Todd is going to go far in baseball.

But when Cal is given the all clear and gets called back up to The Show, will all the hard work they’ve put in both on and off the field go to waste? Or will they continue forming the perfect battery together?

And the GORGEOUS cover:

And finally links to buy – the entire Anthology can be found here: Scoring

Or if you just want my story, you can find it here along with an excerpt: Calling The Shots

And if you want an additional excerpt, check it out Here

One final thing, OMG I promise I will get to those pictures of Venice – my goal is by the end of the month – we got our final shipment of stuff yesterday, my in-laws come this weekend for two weeks /o\ and one of my china cabinets needs repaired before I can use it 😦 But life is SLOWLY getting back to normal. *Finger crossed* it happens soon LOL.

Have a great week!!!

<333
KH

Leave a Reply

