Writing Process Blog Tour

First, I would like to thank BA Tortuga for inviting me to participate in this! *claps* Here is a link to her website: BA Tortuga If you like cowboys, shifters, and even vampires, you need to check her out! Her cowboys are the best 😀

So here’s the deal, I answer four questions, tell you a little bit about my writing process and then the tour moves on. Here we go!

1) What am I working on? Well, I very rarely work on just one thing at a time because sometimes I’m not in the mood to write a particular emotion/subject/scene so I need something else. These are all listed in order of priority. Right now I’m working on a novel about Tom who has just lost his sister and is an instant father to his two nieces. Eryn, the oldest is starting the first grade and her teacher is Aggie. Tom and Aggie fall for each other but Aggie doesn’t want kids of his own and Tom doesn’t want the girls losing anyone else. And that’s all I’m saying right now.

I’m also working on a shifter post apocalypse type thing where shifters are known and in control, except there’s division in the ranks, some of the shifters don’t WANT to be in control, they want a partnership with the human race. It’s most likely going to be Het *gasp I KNOW!* and it’s still in the developmental stages.

I’m getting ready to submit a May-December romance to Dreamspinner about forty-five year old Steve learning to trust and love again with twenty-eight year old Riley.

I just submitted a werewolf/hunter novella to Torquere so *fingers crossed* A hunter and an alpha form an unlikely alliance to find a rogue killer werewolf and discover something that changes all of their lives forever.

Still working on an official novella sequel to my very first published story about demon hunter Lane and his client turned boyfriend Greg.

Also still working on Naval Intel officer Ben who’s back in town after numerous tours elsewhere and runs into his ex Pediatrician Josh. This was going to be my submission to Torquere’s Man In Uniform Anthology but because of RL stuff like snow days and sickness, I couldn’t finish it in time.

I also have a few fanfic things in the works, all Teen Wolf, all post season 3b so I’ve only been working on them sporadically, I feel like I can’t really do them justice before the season ends, so there’s that.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? Hmm, this is a very good question. I’ve often been told that my work has a lighter feel to it? A fluffy feel to it? Because I’m obviously a big believe in happy endings. Funny thing is, I’m trying to change that with a few of the things I’m working on up there so we’ll see. Who knew that angst really sells? (Okay I did, but angst is hard!)

3) Why do I write what I do? I write what I know, military, healthcare, parents and of course the supernatural (because there are rules but again there really aren’t – you can create your own mythology so it’s very freeing.)

4) How does your writing process work? This is a good question. The first thing I do is write a character bio, physical description, age, job, family background, all the good stuff. The initial idea for a story/novel pops in from anywhere. Obviously a few are for particular submission calls or stemmed from them but I usually take the call and run with it and just go where it takes me. I let the characters drive the story. For instance – Tom is a new father and because his nieces have lost their mother he’s going to be fiercely protective of them and not want them to lose anyone else. Aggie’s a teacher, he loves kids, but he’s with them all day and the greatest part about being a teacher is he gets to send the kids home at the end of the day. So how are these two going to make it work when who they are is so closely wrapped up in what they want/need. I like to figure that out, find out what will drive them together or keep them apart.

And I use music a LOT. I’ll hear a song and think “WOW, this song is perfect” and all of a sudden I get images in my head to go with the song. And then the song goes on my writing playlist and sometimes ends up on insanity repeat while I’m writing.

So there you have it, what I’m currently working on, how I write, why I write, and what not.

Next week, the lovely Lillian Francis and Anna Lee have agreed to join the tour and talk about their writing process.

Lillian Francis writes historical fiction, with slow burn romances and has the honor of being the first m/m writer for Ellora’s Cave to earn the Blush rating. You can check her out here, on her website. Lillian Francis

Anna Lee writes fantasy, historical, and contemporary fiction, with happy endings all around and scorching sex scenes. She’s a writer and an editor over at MLR Press. You can check her our here, on her website. Anna Lee

That’s it from me. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

<33
KH

One response to “Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

Leave a Reply

